Isengard HOTT

Here are a couple shots of my rebasing project for Hordes of the Things.

Here is what is done so far.

Saruman the White.

Blades.

Spear.

I’ll post some more when I’m done.

21 Comments Add yours

  1. David Kuijt says:

    Looks excellent, Mike. Can we look forward to seeing them at H’Con? And kicking their white-hand-painted buttocks back to Isengard?

  2. Mike Porter says:

    Thanks DK! I’ll either bring these guys or the Eored of the Third Marshal of the Riddermark that I am building as an opponent for this army. It will probably depend on which one I like playing more.

  3. Robin says:

    Looks fantastic.. what is your proposed army composition?

  4. Mike Porter says:

    Thanks Robin. The figures that I currently own allow the following build:

    1x Magician (Saruman)
    1x Hero (Lurtz)
    1x Behemoth (Troll)
    2x Spear (pikers)
    3x Blade
    1x Shooter (Uruk scouts with bows)

    I am trying to get my hands on some more spear elements through trades, and I plan to buy at least one box of Warg riders. I’m thinking I’d like to get the army up to 48 points.

  5. Robin says:

    Fantastic, thanks.. look forward to seeing the completed army.
    Love the painting on Saruman and the dwarf, btw

    Cheers
    Robin

  6. MrF says:

    Well done Mike, they look great. At last I can find a use for the HORDES of Jacks plastic LOTR stuff. We’ve never played HOTT but now we have some inspiration.
    All the Best
    MrF

  7. Mike Porter says:

    Thanks MrF! Definitely put those LotR figs on some stands and give HOTT a try. I look forward to seeing some battle reports. 🙂

  8. Mike, Awe inspiring. I have often thought of doing the same, but the idea of rebasing keeps it as just an idea. How did you base the figures. Did you pin the feet, just glue them on, leave the bar underneath the feet and build up basing material? Would love to know your technique. They look great.

    David

    PS do you still need some more Uruk Hai pikes?

  9. Mike Porter says:

    Thanks David! It’s not that hard re-basing, just takes some time. I did mine in spurts of 15-20 minutes while renovating my condo. I used bass wood for the bases (in sheets, commonly found in craft and hobby stores).

    I was surprised to discover that when the bases dried, there was only very minor warping. To remedy that, and to provide a medium that would stick to magnetic sheet, I used 15mm DBA bases glued to the bottom of the bass wood bases to provide rigidity.

    As far as the figures themselves, I carefully clipped the plastic figs from their bases. In most cases they popped off, but I did break one foot in the process.

    The ones that were slotta-based, I clipped the bar off so that the feet were flush with the new base.

    Last, yes, I do need some more pikers! If you have some, please email me at: portertm at gmail dot com and we can talk.

    Thanks again!

  10. Bruce W. says:

    Mike,I use what I call “Canvas Board” for my basing.Its the heavy cardboard with a canvas laminate that is used for paintings.I cut it with a pair of heavy shears,and its made to take paint,so it wont warp.I’ve cut pieces as small as 15mmx15mm.

  11. Mike Porter says:

    I may try that Bruce, thanks!

  12. pet sitting says:

    Excellent goods from you, man. I have bear in mind your stuff prior to and you’re just extremely
    magnificent. I really like what you’ve received right here,
    certainly like what you are stating and the way in which by which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to stay it smart.
    I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous
    web site.

  13. Latonya says:

    This piece of writing offers clear idea designed for the new users of blogging,
    that really how to do blogging and site-building.

  14. Josie says:

    fantastic issues altogether, you just gained a brand new reader.
    What may you recommend about your post that you simply made some days in the past?
    Any sure?

  15. Hello, I wish for to subscribe for this website to obtain most up-to-date updates, thus where can i do it please assist.

  16. Marilyn says:

    I’ve learn a few just right stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking
    for revisiting. I surprise how so much effort you set to make such a wonderful informative site.

  17. Wow, wonderful weblog structure! How lengthy have you been running a
    blog for? you made running a blog glance easy. The entire
    look of your website is wonderful, as neatly as the content material!

  18. Lenore says:

    I read this piece of writing completely on the topic of the comparison of most up-to-date and preceding technologies, it’s amazing article.

  19. Bridgett says:

    Howdy I am so thrilled I found your site, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Digg
    for something else, Regardless I am here
    now and would just like to say kudos for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked
    it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a
    great deal more, Please do keep up the superb
    job.

  20. school says:

    Great post! We are linking to this particularly great post on our website.
    Keep up the good writing.

  21. Hello friends, how is everything, and what you would like to say regarding this
    post, in my view its truly awesome in support of me.

Leave a Reply

