Historicon 2008 Pt. 2

Thursday continued.

After the Far East tourney it was time to travel to the H.o.t.T Universe where my Isengard army would be facing off against the undead, the Galctic Empire, and the Trade Federation!

Alex Bostwicks Undead army
Alex Bostwick's Undead army

My first match was against ABos, who trounced me.  Alex was astonished at my rolling 12 “1’s” in a row.  Ouch!

Greek Alex attempts to steam-roll my army.
Greek Alex attempts to steam-roll my army.

Alex Halkiadakis was my next opponent. This game ended pretty quickly, with Count Dooku getting encorceled by Saruman.

NExt up, I played David McDonald and his (almost) all shooter army.  I forgot to take pics, but David played very well and rolled some good dice (he managed to bring back Vader after I encorcelled him).  So I went 1-2 in my first HotT tourney.  Thanks to Mike Oneil for running it.

David Kuijts lovely Ice Barbarians
David Kuijt's lovely Ice Barbarians

Next up was Hannibal at the Gates run by Mark Poz.  I took my Syracusans and went 2-2.  First off was Larry Chaban’s Later Carthos.

Top-down view.  Final rolls were 6-1
Top-down view. Final rolls were 6-1

Next up I played some lad who just learned the game tha day.  He was pretty excited to be fielding his hoplite army.  I won this one 4-0.

A big fight between terrain features.
A big fight between terrain features.

Next was a tense battle against Tony Aguilar’s Polybian Romans.  This battle was marked by a littoral landing at the rear of his army.  Tony smacked me in this fight, 4-1 I think.

Our lines never met!
Our lines never met!

My last fight of the tourney was against Rich Gause’s Gauls.  Rich played like a madman, even after he lost his general.  Final score was 5-3G.

Rich turning my flank, sans general.
Rich turning my flank, sans general.

Tomorrow I post reports from Friday.

FYI, I will be selling one of my Marian Roman armies with a camp and two elements of spear to morph into Polybian.  Shoot me an email if you are interested. portertm @ gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

