Historicon 2008 Pt. 3

Friday began with Big Battle DBA Doubles.  I teamed up with Ron Giampapa, using his Med. Scandinavians w/ Med. German allies.  We were paired up against the Two Davids.  Unfortunately, we had a “no decision”, but the Davids were within one bound of taking our camp and breaking all of our commands.  I believe we broke only one of their commands.  Anyways, they beat us on points.  I was stuck on the “don’t lose” side of the table, while the Davids focused their attack on our weaker commands, heroically commanded by my partner.  At least I got to shoot up one of their 6Kn elements. 🙂

The War Council
The War Council

Next up we faced Shervin Baloorian and Jonathan Miller with their Condotteri.  This was an ill-fated match-up, as Ron got into a “disagreement” about gaming ettiquette wherein we had to call over a judge.  Ron then failed every combat he rolled for and we were crushed!  Karma, Ron! LoL!

We were doomed...
We were doomed...

Last, we played team Dread, comprised of Mark Pozniak and Hank Drapalski.  This was a close game, and we managed to pull out a win by one element!  Mark and I played a spirited match with back to back command breaking.

Mine and Marks side of the board.
Mine and Mark's side of the board.

So we went 1-1-1 for our BBDBA outing.  On to Fortune’s Favorites II: Sunny Spain!

This giant battle was a continuation of our first Fortune’s Favorites game at Historicon 2007.  This time, the Senate has pursued the Triumvirate into Spain.

The Senate Advances!
The Senate Advances!
Road Confrontation! My General (Athanasius) considers his move.
Road Confrontation! My General (Athanasius) considers his move.

I ended up deploying my army on a very strategic road; however, I was stymied by Rich Gause’s cavalry wing, and a massive string of “1’s” for pips.

My usual roll...
My usual roll...
Athanasius curses his luck...
Athanasius curses his luck...
The struggle continues
The struggle continues
An epic clash of arms!
An epic clash of arms!

All told, I had a great time, even if the Senate did pull of another win against the Triumvirate.  Well done, Jeff!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Andy Swingle says:

    lol.. I feel your pain! Your Historicon went like my Origins!

Leave a Reply

